Writing from Kids, Teens, and Young Adults: “In freedom lies solace.”

ESSAY

By Joel Bluhm

I am no Olympic athlete but I have experienced what a luge rider might enjoy while zipping down a hill.

The wind blowing on your face, my body free from prison.  I felt very much like a bird flying over his domain.

In freedom lies solace.

My body never felt such moments like that day of freewheeling sightseeing before.  I will always remember that feeling and relive it over and over again.  I imagine the Olympians and I have that part in common.  One special moment to live and relive all our lives.

The End

March 2, 2010

Joel was a participant in the academic seminar on the 2010 Olympics that I helped facilitate at The California Learning Connection in February/March 2010.  You can read here what finding his voice has meant to him.

4 Responses to “Writing from Kids, Teens, and Young Adults: “In freedom lies solace.””

  1. Still makes me tear up. At least in a good way!

  2. “In freedom lies solace” really sticks in my mind. I’m so thankful Joel let me publish his essays, because I can find them so easily now when I want a lift!

  3. Joel’s mom wrote this when she reposted the link on her facebook page: “This was posted by Nancy Barth, the first teacher to give Joel a writing assignment.”

Trackbacks

Leave a comment